Cadillac – A region steeped in history

Une botrytisation saine et homogène de raisinsThe Cadillac appellation was born in 1973 within the Premières Côtes de Bordeaux appellation where certain vineyard plots were noted for their capacity to develop botrytis on the grapes. Botrytis is a microscopic fungus that can destroy a fruit crop but for making sweet white wines it is a godsend.

The territory of the appellation extends over 22 villages on the right bank of the Garonne river to the south-east of Bordeaux, from Baurech to Saint Maixant. Occupying south-facing slopes that are rather abrupt the vines are well exposed to the beneficial midday sun.

The soils are gravelly or made up of a clay and limestone mix ; the gravel and the slope of the terrain guarantee excellent drainage.

A unique harvest

Wine of the Cadillac appellation is a sweet white wine that is produced from grapes attacked by ‘noble rot’ i.e. the microscopic fungus botrytis cenerea. This fungus, which exists all over the world, can destroy a fruit crop but for Cadillac wines it is a godsend. In order to develop it requires specific climatic conditions.

A rare wineUn vin rare - Cadillac

The winegrowers of the appellation have endowed themselves with a strict set of rules for making their wines in the purest tradition of the sweet Bordeaux whites : a late harvest with several pickings to harvest only the fully-botrytised grapes, much-reduced yields, vinification in small volumes, closely supervised ageing, and bottling systematically carried out at the property.

The grape varieties involved are, on average :
70% Semillon, 20% Sauvignon, and 10% Muscadelle

  • Minimum sugar content in the harvest is set at 255g
  • The minimum alcohol level in the wine is fixed at 12.5%
  • There must be at least 51g/L of residual sugar

Tasting Cadillac Wine

These wine are best appreciated at between 8 and 10°C. The robe can vary from pale yellow to gold, or topaz, and with age can even take on an amber hue.

Each vintage has its own  particular aromas : honey, acacia flower, honeysuckle, vanilla, citrus fruits, apricot, etc. On the palate the wine is fruity, racy, and lively when it is young, and acquires more mature body, becoming unctuous and smoother with age.

The best way to appreciate Cadillac Wines

Accord Parfait - Vins AOC CadillacThese wines are perfect as an aperitif or apetizer, they go well with nuts, Roquefort cheeses, ginger-bread, or cheese, and are a marvellous accompaniment for Indian or Chinese  dishes. To accompany exotically spiced food, melon, or foie gras with a Cadillac wine is to close to perfection.

Cadillac wines can also be paired beautifully with white meat, poultry, fish, or Asian cuisine, and go particularly well with all cheeses, especially blue cheeses. They will also enhance the flavour of chocolate desserts, fruit tarts, sorbet ices, or a fresh fruit salad.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
0

Your Cart

Appellation Cadillac – Une terre d’histoire

Une botrytisation saine et homogène de raisinsL‘Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée Cadillac est née en 1973 au sein des Premières Côtes de Bordeaux où seules quelques parcelles de vignes, les plus propices à une botrytisation saine et homogène de raisins, sont consacrées à ce délicieux nectar.

Le territoire s’étend sur 22 communes de la rive droite de la Garonne au sud de Bordeaux (de Baurech à Saint-Maixant). Perchées sur des coteaux généralement abrupts, les vignes sont exposées au chaud soleil du versant méridional.

Les sols sont graveleux ou argilo-calcaires. Les cailloux et la pente assurent un excellent drainage.

Des vendanges uniques

Le Cadillac est un grand vin liquoreux obtenu à partir de la “pourriture noble” provoquée par le Botrytis cinerea, champignon microscopique. Pour se développer, il nécessite des raisins mûrs et des conditions climatiques spécifiques.

Un vin rare

Un vin rare - CadillacLes viticulteurs se sont donnés des règles très strictes d’élaboration dans la plus pure tradition des grands liquoreux du bordelais : vendanges tardives par tries successives de grains nobles, rendements très limités, vinification en petits volumes, élevage étroitement surveillé et mise en bouteille systématique au château.

L’encépagement est constitué en moyenne par :

  • 70% de Sémillon, 20 % de Sauvignon et 10 % de Muscadelle.
  • La richesse minimale en sucre des lots de vendanges est 255 g/l.
  • Le titre alcoométrique minimum acquit doit être de 12,5°.
  • La teneur en sucres résiduels des vins finis doit être de 51 g/litre.

La dégustation du Cadillac

Ce vin se déguste entre 8 et 10°. Sa robe présente des teintes jaune d’or et topaze, avec le temps elle s’assombrit et se rapproche de l’ambre.

Chaque millésime développe des senteurs particulières, au nez on retrouve des notes de miel, acacia, chèvrefeuille, vanille, agrumes, abricot etc.. En bouche, il est fruité, nerveux et racé quand il est jeune, et en vieillissant il acquiert plus d’onctuosité, de fondu et de corps.

L’accord parfait

Accord Parfait - Vins AOC CadillacCe vin forme un accord parfait, servi à l’apéritif, avec des fruits secs, du roquefort, du pain d’épices et fromage ou des amuse-bouches indiens ou asiatiques. Il atteint la perfection sur les entrées exotiques, le melon, le foie gras…

Il accompagne parfaitement les plats de viandes blanches, volailles, poissons en sauce ou cuisine asiatique, s’accorde remarquablement avec tous les fromages et particulièrement les pâtes persillées, enfin il rehausse la saveur des desserts chocolatés, tartes aux fruits, sorbets ou salades de fruits.

Cahier-des-charges-AOC-Cadillac.pdf (189 téléchargements)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
0

Votre panier